Venda Poverty and Sangomas

Growing up in South Africa we had all these independent states that governed themselves and they were divided into the so-called TBVC States, Self-Governing regions. All these states had an independent status but were not recognized by the international community. They were also known as the Homelands. In the end South Africa had 10 self governing states. TBVC States: Transkei, Bophuthatswana, Venda and Ciskei. Self-governing regions: Gazankulu, Kangwane, Kwandebele, Kwazulu, Lebowa and Qwaqwa. They worked independently from the South African government. Today there are 26 sub chiefs, that trace their ancestry to tribes that were later incorporated within Venda. Today they are part of the 11 official languages of South Africa. They are governed by the State law of the South African government. (, 2013) With all of this said they still need to go and fetch water from communal taps and chop firewood for cooking. People adapt very easily to these conditions if this is all they know.

error: Content is protected !!